Configuring Auto-fulfillment for a Listing

This topic describes how Snowflake providers can configure auto-fulfillment for a listing.

In this Topic:

When auto-fulfillment is enabled for a listing, Snowflake automatically replicates your product to consumer regions as needed. Product refers to the tables, schemas, UDFs, UDTFs, views, etc. that are part of your listing. Auto-fulfillment reduces the manual overhead required to maintain your listings and accelerates consumption making your products available more quickly.

Note

Auto-fulfillment is only supported for free listings and is not supported for personalized listings. Auto-fulfillment is not currently supported for Gov Cloud.

Introduction

You can configure and enable auto-fulfillment when a listing is in either draft or published state. When auto-fulfillment is enabled for a listing, Snowflake automatically manages replicating your listing’s product to regions only as needed.

By default, your product exists only in the region of the account that created the product. After the listing is published, auto-fulfillment replicates the listing’s product to your chosen regions only when a customer requests the product.

When a consumer requests your product, Snowflake checks if the product exists in the consumer’s region. If the product already exists in the consumer’s region, normal fulfillment of the listing continues.

If your product does not yet exist in the consumer’s region:

  • The system creates a secure share area for you in the consumer’s region.

  • The system-managed secure share area replicates the product from the original source region to the consumer’s region according to a schedule defined by the provider. Normal replication charges apply.

  • All future consumers in the region are serviced by the replicated product.

It may take some time for the initial replica of the product to be shared with the consumer depending on the size of the product being replicated. Be aware that the size of the product may also impact the amount of replication costs incurred.

Note

Auto-fulfillment enforces a 10TB limit on the size of the database to be replicated. When attaching a share to a listing Snowsight performs a check and returns an error if the size of data to be replicated is larger than 10TB. Also, when fulfilling a listing Snowflake returns an error if the source data is larger than 10TB.

Considerations when Using Listing Auto-fulfillment

It is important to understand the following considerations when using auto-fulfillment for a listing:

  • If a provider wants to share a product in the same region no additional action is required.

  • You must replicate the listing’s product to the consumer’s region if:

    • The product is to be shared with a consumer account that resides in a region different from the provider account that created the listing, and

    • The product has not previously been replicated.

  • Customers who signed up for Snowflake via AWS Marketplace, GCP Marketplace, or Azure Marketplace are limited to creating accounts and secure shared areas in those clouds only. Replication for regions outside of those regions will fail.

    Contact Snowflake Support for assistance.

  • Auto-fulfillment enforces a 10TB limit on the size of the database being replicated. When attaching a share to a listing the Snowsight UI checks the size of the database and returns an error if the size of data to be replicated is larger than 10TB.

    When the listing is auto-fulfilled, the consumer receives an error if the source data is larger than 10TB.

Required Privileges

Auto-fulfillment tasks can be performed by an account administrator (a user with the ACCOUNTADMIN role) from the organization admin account (an account where the ORGADMIN role is enabled). In addition, the role you use must be granted the MODIFY or OWNERSHIP privilege on the listing.

Support for Auto-fulfillment in Virtual Private Snowflake (VPS)

By default, VPS does not permit data sharing outside of the VPS. VPS customers may choose to enable all accounts within their org to receive data from non-VPS customers, via data sharing, using auto-fulfillment by contacting Snowflake Support. When Auto-fulfillment for VPS customers is enabled, all accounts within the VPS customer’s org may be targeted for data sharing by the non-VPS customer specified by the VPS customer. VPS customers are not permitted to send data to other VPS or non-VPS customers, via data sharing, using auto-fulfillment.

Enabling Auto-fulfillment

When you publish a listing and make it available in a region other than your local region, you are prompted to enable auto-fulfillment. Alternatively, you can choose to enable auto-fulfillment later.

Note

Before enabling auto-fulfillment, you must first select a secure share for your listing.

To enable auto-fulfillment for a listing, perform the following procedures:

  1. Sign in to Snowsight.

  2. Select the user menu and switch to a role that has the MODIFY or OWNERSHIP privilege.

  3. In the left navigation bar, select Data » Provider Studio » Listings.

  4. Select the listing that you want to fulfill.

  5. Select Region Availability » Edit.

    By default, a listing is available to consumers in all current Marketplace regions.

  6. Turn on the Global Availability toggle.

  7. Click Available Regions » Select.

  8. Select the checkboxes next to the region(s) where you want to make your listing available.

    Note

    In general, a listing is available only in the region you select. However, f you select to make the listing available to all regions it will automatically be available in any region that Snowflake adds in the future. If you select a subset of regions, the listing is not automatically available to any new regions.

  9. To specify how the listing is fulfilled, choose one of the following options:

    • Automatic: The listing’s product is automatically replicated and incurs standard replication cost when there is consumer demand in a region. Replication and shares are created automatically.

      Note

      Enabled listings can only be disabled by removing a listing from a specific region or deleting the listing.

    • Manual: Requires you to manually set up accounts in available regions, manually replicate products to each account, create secure shares in each account, and attach those shares to the listing.

  10. If you selected automatic-fulfillment:

    1. Select the replication interval from the drop-down list, then enter a value.

    2. Click Save and Enable Fulfillment.

  11. If you selected to manually fulfill the listing, click Save.

If you selected Automatic fulfillment, auto-fulfillment for the listing is now enabled. However, the listing is not fulfilled until the listing is published and a consumer requests the product. When a consumer requests your product, Snowflake automatically replicates your product to that consumer’s region only if necessary.

Monitoring and Modifying Auto-fulfillment Settings

  1. Sign in to Snowsight.

  2. At the top of the left navigation bar, select the user menu and switch to a role that has the MODIFY or OWNERSHIP privilege for the listing that you want to fulfill.

  3. In the left navigation bar, select Data » Provider Studio » Listings.

  4. Select the row containing the listing that you want to modify.

  5. In the Region Availability section, select Manage, then select one of the following options:

    • Manage Regions & Replication: Enables you to see the regions where the listing is fulfilled and its status. From this window, you add or remove availability for a particular region or check the replication status.

      Selecting a region displays the timestamp of the last sync and how many consumers are accessing the data.

      Note

      If no consumers have accessed your listing’s product in a region, you can select Remove Region. However, after a consumer has accessed your listing’s product in a region, the region cannot be removed using Snowsight.

    • Update Refresh Frequency: Enables you to update the replication interval and frequency.

      You can specify only one schedule for each database. Updating the refresh frequency for a listing updates the refresh frequency for all listings with shares pointing to the same database.

    • Monitor Replication Cost: After publishing your listing, you can monitor the costs related to the listing.

Back to top